Skip to content

Harvest Monday – June 1, 2015

June 1, 2015

Oops, I skipped last week. Not because I had nothing to show, but because my brain was far away, living in a book, and refusing to come back to earth and think about lettuce.

And I still don’t really want to, but work hasn’t left me enough functioning brain cells to produce intelligent words about books, so I might at least use the remaining ones for semi-intelligent ones about vegetables.

(And I finally updated my harvest list, and they’ve been worth about 38€ so far. Which is a lot less than the last years, but on the other hand, it’s kind of reassuring to see that I always lose track for a while around this time of year…)

Anyway. Pictures. Words about the pictures.

DSC04019

hmDSC04028

The downside to summer approaching is that all the babyleaf Asian greens are bolting faster than I can eat them. The upside is – strawberries!

hmDSC04027

hmDSC04032

hmDSC04026

One of the reasons why my harvests seem to be worth less this year is that some of them, like this kohlrabi, lettuce and peas, don’t get entered into my lists because they didn’t grow in my gardens.

We have set up a “urban gardening” area at work, where we display some pots and railing planters with vegetables – either to sell the whole planters, or just to show people what’s possible – and if something needs to be harvested, I get to take it home. And currently, there are an awful lot of greens (babyleaf lettuce, bolting arugula and mizuna, mostly) – more than I know what to do with, but I don’t want to throw it out, either. So while I’m eating this, I’m not harvesting anything at home.

hmDSC04033

An iceberg lettuce on the balcony that I only seem to have taken a picture of before I harvested it.

hmDSC04024

Butterhead lettuce and some kind of babyleaf Asian green thing from the balcony.

hmDSC04088

The first lettuce from the community garden.

hmDSC04084

Radishes, also from the community garden.

hmDSC04090

And more strawberries!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2015 00:16

    Gotta love strawberry season – I’m seeing strawberries everywhere in blogland right now. It’s making me all the more anxious to harvest my first one, hopefully very soon.

    • June 2, 2015 20:50

      Yeah, I imagine it’s hard, seeing them everywhere and not having any yourself!

Leave a Reply

