Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – June 29 30, 2015

June 30, 2015

I keep trying to catch up with all the things I have to do, and instead, I fall further and further behind.

Like blogging. It’s been two weeks since I wrote anything, and I don’t even want to check how long it’s been since I posted anything other than a Harvest Monday post.

At least last Monday, I had a legitimate reason not to post even this much, because I wasn’t at home. I was in Hamburg, Germany, exploring that beautiful city and attending a reading by G.R.R. Martin. (I thought maybe I’d get to post anyway, but the hotel wi-fi was so slow I didn’t even want to try.)

So, time to try to catch up…

From the week before the trip to Hamburg:

sDSC04223

sDSC04218All my lettuces are starting to bolt – they’re not quite bitter enough yet to be completely inedible, but no matter how many huge bowls of salads I eat, I can’t catch up. It might be time to give some away…

sDSC04221I don’t seem to have pictures of all the snow peas I picked in the community garden that week… over 800g in all. And then I came home to find just as many waiting for me again! It’s another thing that’s a little difficult to keep up with right now.

sDSC04184

I should probably have harvested my very first cauliflower while it looked like this (don’t ask me why it’s this purple, I don’t know.)

But I waited until I was home from Hamburg, and it had started to bolt a little. Didn’t stop me from eating it. And it became oddly colourful when cooked:

sDSC05332

Other stuff from the week after Hamburg:

sDSC05331

More bolting lettuce…

And the zucchini was soooo good. I don’t usually like them raw, but for some reason, I ate a piece while cutting it up to cook, and just stopped doing anything for a couple of minutes, because it tasted so good. After months of store-bought ones, I’d forgotten zucchini could taste this good. sDSC05336

And yet more bolting lettuce, and yet more peas… I had my mother, the Clown Brother, my best friend and her son Squirrel over for lunch on Sunday, so between us, we managed to eat most of this (I still had some lettuce left for the next day.)

All in all, my harvests have been worth about €105 so far. Maybe a bit more, because I keep forgetting to check if prices have gone up – I’m still doing my calculations with last year’s prices. It’s not like I get that many chances to check any more, I need to buy a lot fewer groceries now that my garden is feeding me so well!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    June 30, 2015 22:57

    I’ve seen white cauliflower and purple cauliflower, but never a mix before. I’ve got too much lettuce too. I keep trying to catch up, but not succeeding.

    • July 1, 2015 05:52

      I just recently had a customer ask me why her cauliflower was turning purple, and I couldn’t tell her, and then mine did too.

  2. July 1, 2015 21:01

    Wow, that is a lot of lettuce and snow peas. Have you tried lettuce wraps yet? And the cauliflower is actually pretty, did it taste the same as regular cauliflower?

    • July 1, 2015 21:10

      No, I didn’t even know lettuce wraps exist until I read your comment.
      The cauliflower tasted normal. Can’t wait to see if the next one will turn out as colourful as this one (I only plant one at a time, so I’ll have to wait another few weeks for that.)

Leave a Reply

