Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 6, 2015

July 6, 2015

Too many vegetables for just one person to eat…

A few days ago, I started thinking about this recommendation that regularly goes through the media here, that you should eat fruit and vegetables five times a day, and each serving should be about the size of your fist. And I looked at the mountain of zucchini on my plate, and at the huge salad bowl, and just started laughing.

Not being/eating at home much during the weekend didn’t help – but considering the cool stuff I got to do, it was worth falling a little further behind. On the other hand, I met some of my relatives on Saturday, and sent them home with some vegetables.

sDSC05356

At the community garden. Somehow, this picture looks really pretty to me.

sDSC05379

Another one of my cucumber plants died, without bothering to explain what the problem was. This was all I could salvage from it.

Next year, I’m not bothering with the expensive grafted ones any more. They seem to die even more quickly than regular ones, at least in my balcony garden, so they weren’t the best financial decision.

sDSC05382

Another bolting but only-just-still-edible lettuce.

sDSC05381

Lettuce, snow peas, zucchini – standard fare these days. But also a potato.

I’m not growing potatoes, at least not on purpose. But there are a few “volunteers” in my community garden plot, and while weeding, I accidentally harvested one.

sDSC05429

On Saturday, my aunt, uncle and grandmother came to the garden party at the Clown Brother’s place, and when they dropped me off at home, I offered them some lettuce and zucchini (there’s a green one somewhere under the other stuff, too), and my aunt also asked for some chard (which I still haven’t really started harvesting for myself, because I have so many other things to keep up with.)

sDSC05434

And then on Sunday morning, I found the first tomato! That was almost as exciting as climbing around in a crumbling castle later that day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2015 23:31

    The first tomato is always so exciting – unfortunately, I’ll not be seeing that for at least another month.

  2. daphnegould permalink
    July 6, 2015 23:38

    Whoohoo for the first tomato. I hope to be drowning in zucchini soon. But so far nothing. Only female blossoms and tiny ones at that. Not worth harvesting as blooms.

  3. July 7, 2015 07:31

    It’s amazing the variety and amount of vegetables you’re able to harvest from your balcony. The first tomato is always so fun to find.

Leave a Reply

