Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – July 13 14, 2015

July 14, 2015

I would have had plenty of time to post yesterday, since I’m on sick leave (bruised and scratched after a stupid little accident with my bicycle), but I got caught in a procrastination spiral…

Last week was a very busy one, and I didn’t harvest much, since I didn’t get to cook/eat at home for several days in a row. Maybe this accident really was a much-needed reminder to slow down a little.

I don’t even have pictures of all my harvests, because when I finally had time to harvest and cook something, I was sometimes too tired to remember to take a photo.

sDSC05493

This was an odd lettuce. It was one plant in a box of butterhead lettuce plants at work that looked different from all the others, so I took it home to see what it would turn into. It had very small leaves, with very strong midribs, and didn’t form a proper head. Instead it had a thick stem all the way to the top, even though it didn’t look or taste like it was bolting.

sDSC05495

This was an attempt at saving my dying miniature cucumber plant – it was wilting from the bottom up, so I cut off the tip and rooted it in a glass of water, then potted it up again. And even though it’s still too tiny to be planted back into the big pot on the balcony, it has already produced a fruit. (And in the meantime, another cucumber plant has died. They are rather frustrating this year.)

sDSC05504

Nothing interesting to say about this kohlrabi, except that half of it is probably still in my fridge, since I haven’t cooked anything since… Wednesday? I was busy on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, and then Saturday night there was that unfortunate incident with my bicycle wheel and a tram track, and afterwards I could barely use my arm well enough to make a snack, let alone a proper meal.

s20150708_134411

I’m giving away zucchini at every opportunity, or just telling people to pick some in my community garden plot. This was the picture my mother sent me last week – 6.6 kg in total. (And there’s another huge one waiting already, but I still haven’t finished the one still in my fridge…)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    July 14, 2015 21:16

    The ribs of the lettuce are my favorite part, so I probably would have enjoyed the one you picked.

    • July 17, 2015 19:46

      I like the ribs, too, but this one didn’t have much taste, so I wasn’t too impressed.

  2. July 17, 2015 16:18

    I’m sorry you’re hurting, hopefully you heal up quickly from your accident. That’s great you were able to root the cucumber stem. And does yellow zucchini taste any different than other zucchini?

    • July 17, 2015 19:50

      Thanks, I’m mostly back to normal now (still bruised and scratched, but not hurting much any more).
      I can’t say I’ve noticed a big difference in taste – I planted both with the idea that I would be able to compare them, but haven’t really done that.

Leave a Reply

