Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 20, 2015

July 20, 2015

There were a few days last week when I didn’t harvest anything – I couldn’t have cooked it, even if I could have harvested it, because my shoulder hurt too badly after my stupid little bicycle accident. By the end of the week, I was fine, though, so some things did get picked.

sDSC05532

This was the view from the entrance to the building on Thursday. That day, some people from the urban gardening competition came to visit to get a look at my gardens and answer any questions I might have (the only one I could think of was whether they had any experience with the irrigation system I’m thinking of buying – seems like it really is a good one). Without them pointing it out, I wouldn’t even have noticed there were so many ripe tomatoes, so after they had left, I went and picked them.

sDSC05536

sDSC05538

The beans should have been picked earlier, they were a bit stringy, but since I couldn’t properly lift my right arm, that had been out of the question!

sDSC05539

An attempt at showing the size of the zucchini I harvested yesterday (along with some lettuce and radishes I didn’t take pictures of). I don’t even know what it weighs yet, because my cheap little kitchen scales only go to 0.5 kg, so I’ll have to weigh it bit by bit as I use it up. (I think my mother picked a zucchini too, but she hasn’t sent me a picture or weight this time.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    July 20, 2015 23:08

    Good lord that is a huge zucchini. I weigh things like that on my bathroom scale. Not that I’ve ever had a zucchini like that. I hope your shoulder is better.

    • July 21, 2015 06:00

      I don’t even have a bathroom scale.
      I’ve had bigger zucchinis than that, though, when I was a child (we always went on holiday for three weeks in summer, with no-one to pick anything in the garden).
      And thanks, my shoulder is much better.

  2. July 25, 2015 19:07

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. And your container garden looks beautiful. I can’t believe how big that zucchini is, I didn’t realize they got as big as winter squash.

    • July 25, 2015 23:18

      To be honest, that’s probably the best-looking part of my garden… everything else is a lot more messy and less colourful than that one windowbox.

Leave a Reply

