Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 10, 2015

August 10, 2015

Oops. It has been quite some time since I posted anything at all…

But I’ve had a busy couple of weekends, having friends over for one of them, travelling to the Netherlands for another, and the weeks before/between/afterwards were filled with preparations/cleaning up. And lots of swimming, since it’s been hot, hot, and hot again. Spending about 2.5 hours after work every day going to the lake, swimming and going back home (11 km cycling each way, and over 1 km swimming) doesn’t leave a lot of time for blogging.

Anyway. Time to play catch up – the harvests of the last three weeks:

sDSC05545

sDSC05692

Found some wild blackberries – they’re so good! I was planning to go to the forest to get more of them, but it’s just too hot.

sDSC05718

The first big tomato harvest – it’s kind of a tradition for me to bring some on my trip to the Netherlands.

sDSC05770

sDSC05772

Still can’t bring myself to take off my Castlefest wristband… it reminds me of the good days I had there.

sDSC05774

sDSC05776

My last cucumber. The last plant died a few days ago. That really didn’t go well this year.

sDSC05778

First eggplant.

And I’m pretty sure there were more zucchini that were never photographed. Too many zucchinis…

sDSC05798

The first fennel I’ve ever grown, the first beet of the year, some beans, and some savoy cabbage that really needed to be eaten as it was starting to rot.

sDSC05799

It seems I didn’t take a picture of the chard, cauliflower and the last peas that I also harvested… that was during the weekend I had visitors, so talking and laughing and cooking together was more important than taking pictures (though at least I remembered to weigh everything so I could put it on my list.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2015 02:29

    I’m quite surprised you were able to harvest anything, considering your busy schedule! It looks like your plants didn’t suffer too much from your absence, which is always a good thing. There’s always that bit of anxiety if I’m away even for a couple of days as to what I will find in the garden.

    • August 12, 2015 19:02

      I did have some trouble finding someone to water the balcony while I was in the Netherlands, since all the people I usually ask were on holiday as well! I was a little uneasy about leaving the Carpenter Brother in charge, but he kept everything alive.
      And, well, busy or not, I still need to eat, so some things still get harvested.

  2. daphnegould permalink
    August 11, 2015 14:59

    Great harvests. I wish I could pick wild blackberries here. I’ve seen plants, but whenever I’ve looked for them they are always moldy. Ick.

    • August 12, 2015 19:05

      I’ve never had problems with mould, but I can’t go picking when it’s this hot. I need long clothes as protection against thorns (and it also helps my arachnophobia somewhat, if I have the feeling the spiders can’t touch most of my skin directly), and then there are also a lot of wasps on the berries when it’s hot – which would be unpleasant even if I wasn’t mildly allergic.

  3. August 16, 2015 01:44

    That’s a lot of tomatoes and they’re so pretty. All your zucchini pictures makes me smile.

    • August 16, 2015 19:35

      I do always choose my tomatoes for prettiness, too, not just for taste. 🙂

Leave a Reply

