Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – August 18, 2015

August 18, 2015

Late again, because I’ve had a busy couple of days.

DSC05813

Zucchini, zucchini, always zucchini… and tomatoes. There were more tomatoes, a handful for lunch every day, that I didn’t take pictures of.

DSC05815

Pasta with tomatoes and zucchini for a quick dinner.

DSC05817

I harvested all the chard in the community garden, because I was sick of having to water it all the time – it’s been very hot and very dry for weeks, and the chard, with its big leaves, needed a lot of water. I still haven’t eaten it, though, it all went into the freezer.

DSC05818

Chopping and blanching all of it (1.7 kg) took me about two hours…

DSC05882

My beets are getting quite big, too. I ate this one grated, with grated apple and mashed bananas – my mother made that sometimes when I was a child, and I still like it. It’s how I eat most of my beets, actually.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    August 18, 2015 21:52

    Your pasta dish looks delicious. I should never look at food before dinner. I get so hungry.

Leave a Reply

