Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 24, 2015

August 24, 2015

sDSC05893

The Red Kuri squash on the balcony hasn’t set any new fruit (or even bloomed) in a while, so I ripped it out and planted some winter vegetables in the pot. I guess we can call this a mildly successful experiment. And in the process, I broke off an eggplant with my elbow, oops. I mean, I guess it needed to be harvested anyway, but I already have so many vegetables to eat, I don’t need it right now.

hmDSC05884

Just a small part of my tomato harvest – I pick at least this much every day for my lunch.

hmDSC05886

My cabbages were so mouse-eaten, they were not at all photogenic pre-chopping. I ended up eating Krautfleckerl (pasta with cabbage) for three days.

hmDSC05895

Another zucchini… the last of the really huge ones, yay!

hmDSC05897

More Swiss chard. On Saturday, we had a picnic at the community garden, and I brought zucchini cake and chard strudel.

hmDSC05918

Beans. I haven’t had much of those yet this year. I remember reading that they don’t bloom when it’s very hot, so that’s probably why. It certainly has been hot this summer!

hmDSC05920

The first red cabbage I’ve ever grown. It was such a beautiful plant, I was sorry to harvest it. But it was also a huge plant, and I really needed the space to plant a few more lettuces and endives.

(I’ll shut up about this soon enough, but if you’re on Facebook, please support me in the urban gardening competition.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    August 25, 2015 12:24

    Lovely harvests. And two squash on the balcony seems pretty good to me.

    • August 26, 2015 06:02

      Well, they’re very small, too.
      I still need to look up what they’d cost if I had to buy them in the store.
      But I guess I’ll grow them again next year.

  2. August 25, 2015 14:31

    That’s more winter squash than I got last year in a garden bed, so I would say that it was quite the success!

    • August 26, 2015 06:04

      That’s good to know. I only knew a couple of plants in gardens I pass on my way to work, and mine really doesn’t compare favourably there.

Leave a Reply

