Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 31, 2015

August 31, 2015

Another busy week, again no posts since the last Harvest Monday, even though I have so many things I want to write, oops.

(But tomorrow, I promise. Because tomorrow is September 1st.)

But for now, let’s look at my harvests.

sDSC05929 sDSC05930

First of the Dattelwein tomatoes. They really have been taking their time this year.

sDSC05932 sDSC05975

It’s been the week of the currant tomatoes…

Did I ever tell you the story of how I ended up with the white currant tomatoes again? Years ago, I ordered seeds from the US (which was a complicated thing involving a friend bringing them over to save on shipping), and sold some of my surplus plants at work.

Then this year, I was chatting with a customer about growing tomatoes, and rare heirloom varieties, and she said she’d bought one of those white currant tomatoes from us years ago, and I said, “oh, I grew those”, and somehow mentioned I’d forgotten to save seeds. And she goes, “I think I still have a plant left that I don’t need, if you want, you can have it.” Paid for her stuff, drove off and was back ten minutes later holding out a tomato plant.

sDSC05976

And the first of the white radishes, which I only remembered to take a picture of when I’d already started to chop it up for a salad.

There were more tomatoes than what’s in the pictures, too, and lots of herbs. Since I often harvest bit by bit, as needed, I don’t always remember to take pictures.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    August 31, 2015 20:37

    I once ate all my beans seeds instead of remembering to save some and didn’t have any to plant that spring. But I got some back from a gardener I had given some to the year before. It really helps to spread the seeds around.

    • September 1, 2015 20:17

      And it helps to talk to people – it took me some years to really get the hang of chatting with customers, but there’s a saying here, “Beim Reden kommen d’ Leut’ zam” – “Talking brings people together.”

  2. September 1, 2015 14:14

    Lovely tomatoes! I know how you feel – so much to write about but so little time to write it. What’s funny is that when I first started my blog, I was worried I would run out of things to say…doubt that will happen anytime soon.

    • September 1, 2015 20:18

      I’ve had times when I really didn’t know what to write about, because nothing seemed interesting enough to be worth the bother, but now I’m swinging back around to too much to write and too little time.

  3. September 6, 2015 02:37

    White radishes – I’ve never had those. Are they like the red ones, or more like an onion or shallot?

    • September 6, 2015 08:30

      Like the red ones (onions and shallots are a completely different kind of plant), but much bigger.

Leave a Reply

