Skip to content

Harvest Monday – 21 September, 2015

September 21, 2015

Oops, has it really been three weeks since my last Harvest Monday post?

I wish I could claim I’ve just been too busy, but to be honest, there simply were weeks when I didn’t harvest anything except for some chives, and there were weeks when I simply didn’t feel like posting.

Still not much to show now…

According to my records, there was a week when I picked a lot of tomatoes, but these are the only pictures I have from it:

sDSC06002

sDSC06012

A tiny little bell pepper:

sDSC05997

sDSC06013

Zucchini ‘Tondo Chiaro di Nizza’ that got way too big, bolting fennel, mouse-chewed kohlrabi and red beets (the damned critters got almost all of my beets – I’m so angry!), a pathetic amount of beans and some chard.

sDSC06211

Big and small… the last of the zucchini (I pulled out the plants at last and sowed some lamb’s lettuce and spinach instead), and because a reader asked about the white radishes in the last Harvest Monday post, a size comparison with an ordinary red one. Idon’t expect the red one can actually still be eaten, they had all bolted and were pulled out during Saturday’s big garden clean-up. The white one is actually quite small – if you buy them in the store, they are often almost as long as the green zucchini (which is as long as my arm from shoulder to wrist.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. daphnegould permalink
    September 22, 2015 12:41

    I hate when the critters get the food before me. So far I haven’t had trouble with my mice eating the food I’m growing. They love the compost pile too much. It is worm heaven and I think that and the kitchen scraps are enough for them.

    • September 22, 2015 18:03

      We have an awful lot of mice (and the compost heap is mostly weeds, so not very interesting).
      They make me angry enough that I’ve stopped trying to pet the cats in the park. I’m not going to distract them from hunting any more.

Leave a Reply

