Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 5, 2015

October 5, 2015

Not sure what happened last week – why didn’t I post?

Luckily, I checked Daphne’s blog anyway. It would have been quite a shock to discover that she’s stopped hosting Harvest Monay. This way, at least, I had a week to get used to it. So this is a goodbye to Daphne, and a hello to Dave.

On to my harvests, then…

sDSC06220

Lots of white currant tomatoes. I’m glad I got to grow this variety again, but it’s a bother to harvest (they always burst when you pick them) so I put it off until there are lots and lots and I can’t wait any longer… I think I used those for a pasta salad. And I finally saved some seeds.

sDSC06242

More of the white currant tomatoes, pathetically tiny eggplant (one day, I will figure out how to actually make them thrive on my balcony… one day…) and some basil.

sDSC06231

Three tiny but delicious cobs of corn.

sDSC06243

The remaining bean pot on the balcony has finally started producing a decent harvest. I once read that beans don’t bloom when it’s too hot, so that’s probably why it took them so long this year. We had a very hot summer, after all. And two late strawberries.

sDSC06247

Tiny mouse-chewed cabbage, big radish, bolted fennel…

sDSC06248This radish made me laugh so much. I hope that you’ll excuse the fact that my mind made a quick trip into the gutter… I’ve seen plenty of root vegetables that looked like they had penises, but this is the first one that looks like it also has a vagina…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2015 20:53

    My beans took a break during the summer heat too. As for the radish – I was thinking walrus tusks, but now it is difficult for me to keep it clean as well!

  2. October 6, 2015 02:59

    Love the corn – hopefully I have better luck with it next year than I did this year. And boy is that ever a funny radish!

Leave a Reply

