Skip to content

All the Things I Never Told You

December 31, 2015

I went back through my blog today, and as I thought, it’s really been about two years since I pretty much stopped posting anything but Harvest Mondays. And, yeah, bits of other things in between, but not nearly as much as I used to do.

(I’m pretty sure now that my drop in both interest in and energy for blogging were symptoms of depression. I feel better now, but who know if it’ll stay that way?)

I still did a lot of stuff in those two years, I just couldn’t bring myself to write about them, or even organise the photos, which meant that when I could finally make myself do it, I had thousands of photos to go through.

I went to Stuttgart again to meet Tad Williams there, to go to his reading and comfortably hang out in his hotel room, as one does with one’s favourite author. (If one is as ridiculously lucky as us Smarchers.)

100_9890

I wandered through the park around Schönbrunn Palace in Vienna.

100_0073

I went to plant markets.

DSC03661 Paeonium

DSC03853 Lycopersicum esculentum

I danced a lot.

100_0874

I met Jenny-Mai Nuyen (who I suppose not a lot of people know)

DSC03126

 

… and Patrick Rothfuss (who I’m sure a lot of people know).

DSC03134

 

I went to Hamburg…

DSC04381

… to see George R.R. Martin (with about 3000 other people)…

DSC04441

… and to look at a lot of plants (of course).

DSC04966 Rosa, Salvia, Centranthus, Oenothera, Digitalis

DSC04797

I went to the street performance festival in Big Town:

DSC05614

DSC05634

I went swimming a lot all through the ridiculously hot summer…

DSC05937

… rode my bike to the lake and back every day after work (which I think did a lot of good things for my mental health).

DSC05948

I went on walks.

DSC06328 Populus

DSC06839

DSC06822 Fagus, Picea, Larix

I went to a rather unimpressive garden show in Bad Ischl.

DSC06102

I saw beautiful gardens.

DSC06523

I flew to London to spend time with friends.

DSC06644

And maybe now I can finally tell you all about these things.

(I suppose I did some gardening and reading too, but not nearly as much as I used to. Blogging wasn’t the only thing that was affected by lack of interest and energy.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2016 23:10

    You’re braver than I am. I still haven’t gotten up the energy to post about why I moved away from my friends and family, why I left everything behind. I’m glad you’re back, and I sincerely hope you’re feeling better. Liza

    • January 14, 2016 23:46

      I imagine it’s also a more difficult decision when your blog is connected to your real name and your business. Whatever the reason to move there, I hope Phoenix will treat you well!

Leave a Reply

