Skip to content

Can We Pretend Christmas Is Now?

January 4, 2016

Because now we finally have snow, and the first flower on my Christmas cactus (Schlumbergera x buckleyi).

DSC07232 Schlumbergera x buckleyi

Yesterday.

I think this is the earliest it has ever bloomed in the six years I’ve had it. I found a few photos from January 17th last year, so about two weeks later than this. Maybe next year, it’ll actually bloom at Christmas?

DSC07239 Schlumbergera x buckleyi

Today.

Last year was the first time I got more than one or two blooms on it, too.

DSC02879 Schlumbergera x buckleyi

February 8th, 2015

I think it liked the fact that I was away for most of November, so there was no artificial light the long nights it needs to form buds.

So this year I tried even more than in previous years to keep the light off in the bedroom, and it seems to be paying off. Yes, picking out clothes in the dark can be… interesting, and sometimes the plants are very thirsty for a couple of days when it’s dark before I go to work, and dark after I get home, and I don’t see how sad they’re looking… but that’s an acceptable price for pretty flowers. Even though I only see those in the mornings of days when I’m not working, which is the only time I’m in the bedroom with enough light to see by, this time of year.

(Another discovery I made, while looking up when the plant has bloomed before, is that I seem to be most inclined to take pictures of it when it has snowed. Which hasn’t happened much in the last couple of winters, but out of the three days I took pictures of it last winter, two were days with snow.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2016 04:31

    I just got a start for a Christmas cactus from a friend. When I say start let me say it has flowers on it already. I’m hoping it won’t be the last time it bloomed. They are so beautiful aren’t they? I’m so glad I finally have one, I have admired them for so long. Yours looks fantastic.

    • January 6, 2016 13:38

      This one is my favourite one of all my Schlumbergeras, even though it’s the hardest to get to bloom.
      If you have a place where it won’t get any artificial light during the autumn months, it should bloom just fine. But finding such a place is a challenge for a lot of people.

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – January 2016 | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

