Skip to content

Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – January 2016

January 15, 2016

All right, let’s do this again. Another thing I’ve let slide over the last year.

When I remembered today what the 15th of the month means, I realised I don’t even have any flowers at home. So I bought some.

DSC07367 Guzmania, Phalaenopsis

Then when I got home, I remembered I do actually have some flowers.

DSC07378 Schlumbergera

But I keep the holiday cacti in the bedroom, with the light off, to give them the long nights they need to bloom. So I pretty much only ever see them on weekend mornings.

The picture is kind of crappy, but I didn’t want to turn on the light even to take it.

The one on the left is the one I posted about recently, and the one on the left was a cutting from my grandmother’s huge plant – my most reliable bloomer. (The “mother” plant is so big that my grandmother was talking about throwing it out, but that’s just not allowed. It must be decades old, and it would be a shame, and I just don’t have the space to adopt it. And I’ve never even taken a picture of it, because I never manage to visit when it’s in full bloom.)

Anyway. So these are in the bedroom, which means I could still use a few flowers for the living room jungle.

DSC07373 Guzmania, Phalaenopsis, Pandanus, Begonia, Piper

I don’t really care for Phalaenopsis – I just see too many of them in my job – but one of the stems on this one had a rather odd flower shape, and I usually like the not-so-ordinary plants best.

DSC07369 Phalaenopsis

They’re from a local grower who often puts two plants in one pot, which is why there are two slightly different ones in this one.

Work is full of primroses and violas, but I haven’t bought any of those yet. It’s tempting, though!

Bonus pictures from work:

The shop, after being closed for a month, sad and empty:

DSC07330 Saintpaulia, Epipremnum, Zamioculcas, Sansevieria, Asplenium

The shop after a shopping trip to the wholesaler and the orchid grower:

DSC07355 Saintpaulia, Kalanchoe, Guzmania, Aphelandra, Phalaenopsis

I suppose you can guess where my new flowers came from!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Virginia Burton permalink
    January 27, 2016 22:31

    Who took care of the plants during the month-long closure?

    • January 27, 2016 22:48

      My boss lives very close, so he takes care of watering and heating when we’re closed. Or sometimes his son, who also works there.

Leave a Reply

