Skip to content

Daisies

June 22, 2016
tags:

I know this is said over and over, but… such simple flowers, and yet so beautiful.

DSC08599 Bellis perennis

The common daisy (Bellis perennis) is indeed very common, probably the most common flower to grow in lawns around here, one of the flowers people are most likely to know by name.

DSC08598 Bellis perennis

One of the things I found really funny was seeing daisies grow as a weed in the San Francisco botanical garden, side by side with plants I’d never seen before, or with baby’s tears (Soleirolia soleirolii), which I’d only ever seen as a houseplant before.

DSC08596 Bellis perennis

Years ago, I entertained myself by making up plant names in the Kivailo language (which I developed for a number of stories, none of which were ever finished. I wish I had time to get back to writing.) Daisies are sedaylo, which literally means “snowflakes”. When I see a lawn like this one, completely covered in daisies, that seems pretty appropriate.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice deGrey permalink
    June 22, 2016 21:57

    Snowflakes, a good name indeed! For me, part of the appeal of daisies is that you can eat the flowers and they even taste good… but yes, they’re pretty too. 😛

    • June 22, 2016 22:00

      Being able to eat them is definitely a good thing too. Even though I haven’t done that in way too long. Brings up memories from kindergarten, though.

      • Alice deGrey permalink
        June 22, 2016 22:05

        In kindergarden (I think) I didn’t know that you could eat them yet, haha.

        • June 22, 2016 22:07

          We actually were served bread with butter and daisies there once. I was very suspicious of this eating-flowers business.
          (But then later, I remember, picking daisies in the yard and demanding my mother use them when making dinner.)

Leave a Reply

