Skip to content

The Emptiness Between the Stars [The Star Host by F.T. Lukens]

June 25, 2016

UnbenanntDo you ever read a book and can’t find anything to say about it? When there was nothing wrong with it, you enjoyed it, but nothing about it stood out enough to be worth writing about?

The Star Host was such a book, a quick easy read, as is to be expected from a YA book, and which was what I needed, characters that were likable enough that I cared about them, a plot that kept me interested, abilities that were enough like magic to make up for the fact that spaceships aren’t really my thing…

But it also felt like there wasn’t much depth behind it, none of the vast and complicated worldbuilding I enjoy so much. We’re given a few key points about life on Erden and in space, a couple of chunks of history and legend… but they feel far apart and unconnected, like stars, with a lot of empty space between them.

And I want so much to say kind things, because I did enjoy the book, I just can’t point to anything specific.

But it’s only the first part of the story, so maybe I’ll have more to say then. Maybe some of those empty spaces will be filled.

(I started to write what I though would be a couple of sentences about how it happened that I got this as an ebook, even though I don’t really like them, but it turned out to be longer than what I wrote about the book, so I’ll post it separately, probably tomorrow.)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2016 06:27

    I run into this problem more than I’d like. I read a book, I like it, but I can’t really explain why, because nothing really stands out about it good or bad. It makes writing reviews a little more challenging.

Trackbacks

  1. Of Books and Brains | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

