Skip to content

A Name for the Garden

July 1, 2016

I’ve been wondering for a while what to call my new garden, except “new garden”. I do need a way to distinguish it from the balcony garden and the community garden, after all.

DSC09339The day before yesterday, some friends were making suggestions, and I really liked one of them:

The Unexpected Garden.

(Thanks, Peter!)

Both because it’s true and because of the Hobbit reference. (I don’t really care about The Hobbit in particular, and certainly not the movies, but at least it’s my favourite genre.)

DSC09399 Juglans regia

Walnut tree (Juglans regia)

The pictures are from late May, when my best friend, her boyfriend and their son – my sort-of nephew Squirrel – and my mother all came to the garden and we had a barbecue there.

DSC09349 Aquilegia vulgaris

Columbine (Aquilegia vulgaris)

I have a lot more pictures from that day, but most of them are of people, and I’m not going to post those.

DSC09368 Knautia arvenis

Field scabious (Knautia arvensis)

DSC09372 Leucanthemum vulgare

Oxeye daisy (Leucanthemum vulgare)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

