Skip to content

I’m Not Saying You Have to Buy This Book…

July 6, 2016

DSC00634… I’m just strongly suggesting that, if you don’t already own Tad Williams’ The Dragonbone Chair, now might be the time to buy it. Because DAW has a new trade paperback, with new, beautiful cover art by Michael Whelan and decades-old typos finally corrected.

And because you could look at the last page and see my name printed there, among those of many friends.

Because I still can’t believe… Look, I learned English with this book. I mean, I’d learned some in school, I’d read Harry Potter before, but I learned still more from Memory, Sorrow and Thorn. And now I helped correct typos in that very same book.

It feels unreal. And I’ve spent the last fifteen hours or so (minus the few I spent sleeping) alternating grinning like a madwoman or tearing up. With lots of hugging the book thrown in.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2016 19:24

    I haven’t received my copy yet, but I already know I’ll feel much the same. This book taught me the words “merlons”, “motley”, “cockatrices”, and so many other words (I was 14 when I first read it). And the characters in this book became my friends. To have my name in this book… I just… Is someone cutting onions…?

    • July 6, 2016 20:46

      Yeah. I did know some English before I read it – enough to read Harry Potter – but MST taught me so many more words.

      (And, heee – onions!)

  2. ylvsladuchesse permalink
    July 8, 2016 00:15

    cyan mentioning this blog post at the party reminded me that I did not yet comment.
    Days later and I still hug the book.

    • July 8, 2016 04:14

      I’ve been so busy yesterday that I didn’t get to hug it at all. What a shame. (But I couldn’t shut up about it at dance practise.)

Leave a Reply

