Skip to content

New Plants

July 12, 2016

Well. Just new plants I saw. Not new plants I bought. (Though I do have a few of those as well.)

Anyway, more stuff from the Langenlois school gardens:

DSC09487 Papaver orientale

Oriental poppies (Papaver orientale) aren’t new, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a red-and-white one before.

DSC09488 Amsonia illustris

DSC09486 Amsonia illustris

Ozark bluestar (Amsonia illustris)

DSC09495 Physiocarpus opulifolius 'Diabolo'

Common ninebark (Physocarpus opulifolius) ‘Diabolo’

DSC09585 Polemonium

DSC09583 Polemonium

Jacob’s ladder (Polemonium¬† – probably P. caeruleum)

DSC09500 Phuopsis stylosa

DSC09502 Phuopsis stylosa

DSC09501 Phuopsis stylosa

Caucasian crosswort (Phuopsis stylosa) – I think this one was my favourite. The Jacob’s ladder was pretty too, and I love blue, but there’s something so cute about it, and I’ve definitely never seen this, or anything similar, before.

I want to have it. Why didn’t I steal any of it?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lvdpal permalink
    July 13, 2016 08:04

    I really look forward to your blogs each day. Even the ones like this with just pretty pictures. I recently learned about a cool app (that I still have to install on my phone) called early birds (translated the title from Dutch), where you can ask other people to help you identify the plants you encounter. Still waiting for an answer one of my colleagues posted about a yellow flower that looked a bit like a nettle (‘dovenetel’ in Dutch). Only I only know of purple and white nettles. I’d never seen it before and suddenly I see it in lots of places.

    • July 13, 2016 22:00

      This plant?
      Sounds like a nice app, and I’m half tempted to see if there’s something similar in German or English – but then I also enjoy the challenge of tracking down the names of the plants I take pictures of.
      (And it’s nice to know you’re reading. I mean, I do know people are reading, I do see my stats, but it’s different knowing there are people I actually know reading.)

Leave a Reply

