Skip to content

A Walk Through the Vineyards

July 15, 2016
tags: ,

The landscape around Langenlois is very different from what we have here around Small Town.

For one, the loess, and the streets dug deeply into the ground. It’s so weird to me that these steep walls stay up all by themselves, because that would never work with the soil we have here.

DSC09675 Robinia pseudoacacia

 

DSC09676 Robinia pseudoacacia

Black locust (Robinia pseudoacacia) – there are a lot of those in the area, too, and now I understand why my botany professor talked about them as an example of an invasive species.

And the other big difference: vineyards everywhere. I mean, there is one behind my house, but that is very unusual for this area, while Langenlois is completely surrounded by them.

DSC09681 Vitis vinifera

DSC09682

DSC09687

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2016 00:34

    So beautiful! Especially the grapevines! Makes me wish I had more luck growing my own grape vines. But just keeping them alive has been a huge struggle. Guess I’ll just have to admire the ones in Langenlois.

    • July 16, 2016 21:37

      There’s something so cheerful about the bright green of grape leaves.

      I’m thinking of putting some grapevines into my garden, but that’ll probably still take a while.

Leave a Reply

