Skip to content

Wholesale Market in Vienna

July 16, 2016

On one day of our week of classes, we went on an excursion to Vienna.

DSC09690

The Flower Hall is mostly for cut flowers, and a few potted plants, mostly imported stuff. If Austrian nurseries grow cut flowers at all, it’s usually just to sell them in their own shop.

DSC09693 Anthurium

Every time I see so many different Anthuriums, I think of Mr Subjunctive at Plants Are The Strangest People, and I wish I could buy him some plants of those varieties and send them to him to breed with.

DSC09694

DSC09696 Chrysanthemum

Some of those cut flowers are pretty, but others, like these dyed chrysanthemums, are just plain disgusting.

DSC09699

The outdoor area is for local growers selling seasonal flowers and vegetable plants.

DSC09708

DSC09702

There’s also an area for fruit and vegetable sellers, and we walked through the Meat Hall, and there’s other stuff that we didn’t look at. There must be a Fish Hall, since we saw some fish spilled in the parking lot.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2016 06:14

    That’s . . . that’s a lot of Anthuriums. (Also weirdly familiar-looking: I haven’t seen most of those in person, I think, but I’m just positive I must have been to the website of whoever produces them at some point or another.[1])

    [1] Which I suppose shouldn’t surprise me as much as it does, since I’ve spent quite a bit of time looking at various producers’ websites. I suppose the surprising part is that they apparently really do look like the pictures.

    • July 17, 2016 09:54

      I haven’t seen them online before, but I think I’ve probably seen them in person before, at the trade fair I went to in January.

Leave a Reply

