Skip to content

Wholesalers, part 6

July 22, 2016
DSC09785

Lots and lots of potting mix.

No pretty plants this time. But it’s the last post about wholesalers, and tomorrow there’ll be more plants, probably.

DSC09786

And lots and lots of flower pots.

So while the other ones we visited all sold plants/cut flowers/ornaments/other floristry-related stuff, the GBC sells supplies for horticulturists, like potting mix, pesticides, pots, parts for irrigation systems, and yeah, more floristry stuff.

DSC09790

I think those were the fertilisers.

It’s not particularly pretty, but I thought maybe it would be interesting. It was to me, since I’ve never been there. My boss goes shopping there regularly (well, at the branch closest to us) so I had a pretty good idea of what they sell, and I’ve seen some of their delivery drivers, and I sort of know one of their sales staff… but as I said, I’d never been there.

DSC09788

Ready for delivery.

And out of all the places we visited, this was the one where we felt the most welcomed. We’d gotten tours around the other businesses, too, but here, we were first led upstairs to a … break room? Meeting room? We got a drink, and the branch manager showed us a video about how the place was built, and the move from the previous location, and then we were split into two groups for the tour so everyone could hear the explanations and ask questions more easily. It really felt like they valued us as future customers there, and we didn’t get this feeling from any of the others.

DSC09794

I don’t know what you’d do with this, but I like it.

DSC09795

Lots and lots of ribbons.

DSC09798

This made me laugh, because Echinocactus grusonii is called Schwiegermutterstuhl (mother-in-law’s chair) in German.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lvdpal permalink
    July 25, 2016 08:12

    I guess that square thing is used as a fence of some kind. And I love the designer who made that pun reality with the stool.

    • July 25, 2016 14:15

      It seemed a bit expensive for a fence – I think it was something like 160 or 180€.

  2. lvdpal permalink
    July 27, 2016 08:45

    That’s because it’s a ‘design’ fence of course! 😉

Leave a Reply

