Skip to content

Can I Ever Go Back?

July 31, 2016

DSC01131

One of the first things I did this morning was to head over to Big Town’s train station, which has a bookstore that’s open on Sunday. To see what I was looking for even as I was coming down the stairs, through the glass front of the store. To walk in, grab a copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and head home again.

And yet, I haven’t started reading.

Partly because I’ve not had time, partly because it’s … oddly terrifying.

To go back to this world, to these characters, that meant so much to me, that still do. Wondering if it will measure up to what the books meant to me growing up, fearing that it won’t…

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice deGrey permalink
    July 31, 2016 23:33

    Haha, I went to that same train station today, although it didn’t even occur to me they’d have copies until I saw them. I refused to buy one because I found the price outrageous… why not save 5 bucks and order from Amazon? (When I have the money…)

    But! I looked at the prologue and some other pages. The script format is odd at first, but I got a really warm and fuzzy feeling inside while reading lines spoken by Harry, Albus, James and Ginny (imagining their voices in my head)! That has to be a positive sign, no?

    • August 1, 2016 05:08

      I thought about waiting a day – Thalia has them cheaper as well – but I was impatient. I want to read it today. (Well, I did start last night, because who needs sleep, right?)

      • Alice deGrey permalink
        August 1, 2016 10:20

        Oh, how is it? I was even thinking of waiting for the paperback, but that’d be too long after all…

        • August 1, 2016 22:56

          I’m not sure how to describe it yet. It’s strange, partly just because of the different storytelling a script requires, partly… I don’t know what I think of the story yet. I’m not quite done reading, and definitely not done digesting. There are parts of it that resonate with me a lot, but I think I’ll save that for the review.

Leave a Reply

