Skip to content

Walk to the River

August 15, 2016

Pictures from today, actually! I still have hundreds, if not thousands of old photos to go through, but for once I’ve already sorted through the new pictures, so you’re getting those.

I went back through the forest to the river where I spent a lot of my teenage years… but it doesn’t quite feel the same any more. It doesn’t feel as welcoming, it doesn’t feel like home. And it’s full of unfamiliar plants.

DSC01506 Cornus mas

Cornelian cherries (Cornus mas)

DSC01511 Pulicaria dysenterica

Common fleabane (Pulicaria dysenteria) – one of these new plants that I spent some time trying to identify when I got home.

DSC01520

DSC01528

Despite a lot of Googling, I haven’t been able to find out what this is.

DSC01534

DSC01538

DSC01543

I assume this is some kind of Allium

DSC01552 Lythrum salicaria

Purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria)

DSC01557 Dipsacus, Solidago

DSC01559 Rubus caesium

DSC01575 Salvia glutinosa

Glutinous sage (Salvia glutinosa) – another one of those plants that weren’t there ten years ago. (Believe me, I spent enough time in that forest. If it had been there, I would have seen it.)

DSC01588 Dipsacus fullonum

Wild teasel (Dipsacus fullonum) – I’ve seen the seedheads lots of time, but I’ve never seen the actual flowers before.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lvdpal permalink
    August 16, 2016 10:36

    It might not be home anymore, but it sure is pretty! (At least the bits you’ve showed us are.)

Trackbacks

  1. Succulent Planters | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

