Skip to content

Another New Wildflower

August 17, 2016

I spotted this one on my way home from the river on Monday – and then noticed it again beside a cycling path much closer to home.

DSC01596 Gypsophila

I’m not 100% sure what it is, but probably creeping baby’s breath, Gypsophila repens.

DSC01598 Gypsophila

It’s kind fun, trying to track down the names of the plants I find, but also frustrating, because in some cases, the determination keys are just not good enough/don’t include the plants I’m looking for.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lvdpal permalink
    August 18, 2016 08:40

    It’s hard isn’t it? Now I’m less surprised by how hard I found it to be, if even those who are experts in (at least some areas of) plants can’t do it easily.

    • August 18, 2016 18:58

      Yeah – I can sort plants into botanical families pretty easily, but narrowing it down further does depend very much on what I can find online, and that is not always useful.

Leave a Reply

