Skip to content

Succulent Planters

August 18, 2016

We always have some mixed planters by the door of the shop, for people who want to buy a present for someone, or something to put on a grave. I especially like making them with succulents like houseleeks (Sempervivum) and stonecrops (Sedum), partly because I just find them pretty, and partly because they need so little care.

DSC01630 Sedum, Sempervivum

The problem in the last couple of months was that we’d run out of pebbles to decorate them with. I was still able to scrounge up a few around the back of the greenhouses, but they weren’t very pretty, and slowly digging a hole in the ground by removing handfuls of pebbles every time I was making succulent planters also didn’t seem like such a good idea.

So when I made my trip to the river, I collected a bag of pebbles, with the intention to take them to work – and then left them on the bus the next morning!

So when I went to the lake that day, I collected another bag there – and then got a flat tire on the way home, and had to push my pebble-laden bike for an hour…

But I finally got them all to work the next day – the forgotten bag was still on the bus when I got on the next morning. And now I can plant and decorate as much as I want to again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

