Skip to content

Red Pimpernel

August 20, 2016
tags:

Time to go back to the endless amounts of old pictures…

DSC09937 Anagallis arvensis

This is a rare – and pretty – enough weed that I usually can’t bring myself to pull it out if it shows up in one of my gardens. (It’s also small enough that letting it grow doesn’t become a problem.) I’ve loved it since I was a child, but never knew what it was called. I probably had my own name for it as a child, but I can’t remember it now.

When I took this picture, outside my bed and breakfast in Langenlois, I remembered I’d seen a picture of it in a book I had at home, so I finally tracked down the name – Anagallis arvensis, red pimpernel.

Except, as I learned when I looked it up on Wikipedia, it’s not always red. It can also be peach, white, lilac or blue. And the blue subspecies is so pretty!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

