Skip to content

Damselfly Pond

September 6, 2016

After the tomato tasting/seminar, I went to a nearby lake, because I never turn down the chance to go swimming. On the way there, I passed a pretty little pond, with lots of damselflies flitting around. Some of them even sat still long enough for me to take a picture.

dsc01719

dsc01726

Some googling just now revealed that this is the banded demoiselle, Calopterix splendens, and and it comes in different colours. (I had assumed that they were different species, but no. I also didn’t know, prior to googling, that there is such a thing as damselflies – I would have called them dragonflies. In German, they are the same thing.)dsc01722

dsc01742

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

