Skip to content

Please Don’t Go Where We Have Been

November 7, 2016

There’s a part of me that says American politics are none of my business, because it’s not my country.

There’s another part of me that feels sick with worry about your presidential election, a part of me that has to say this:

If you’re voting for Trump, get the fuck off my blog. I want nothing to do with you.

I want to believe that my readers have more sense than this, but the truth is, I don’t know most of you. And most of you don’t know me well enough to know my political opinions.

And my opinion is, we are all people. Regardless of the colour of our skin, our religion, our gender, our sexuality, our disabilities, hell, as much as it pains me, even regardless of our political opinions. We’re all people, and we all deserve to be treated equally. And wherever you live, whatever particular politicians and parties you vote for: if you can’t agree with me on this, if you’re voting for people who believe in treating certain groups less well, again: fuck off. I don’t want you here.

And to Americans in particular: you were one of the countries that came to save us and the world when we put ourselves in Hitler’s hands. Please don’t make the same mistake we’ve made. We’re too small to save you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2016 03:08

    It’s hard not to get emotionally caught up in this storm!

    • November 13, 2016 09:34

      Especially considering my own country’s history. There’ve been so many moments that felt like history repeating itself.

Leave a Reply

