Skip to content

I Don’t Believe In Greatness

November 8, 2016

I don’t believe it’s a useful word to apply to people, or to nations, because it can mean so many different things.

And I don’t believe it’s a good thing to aspire to, because however you define it, it always has the connotation of being more powerful than others, worth more than others.

And the thing I most deeply believe in is that nobody is worth more than anyone else.

There are many things I believe in:

Kindness. Trying not to hurt each other. Apologising when we do. Honesty. Truly listening to each other and trying to understand. Love. Acceptance. Helping each other. Respecting each other. Respecting every living creature in the world, and the environment. Generosity. Considering all the consequences of our actions. Admitting when we were wrong. And, again, above all, kindness.

But never greatness. And I pray to all the gods I don’t believe in that after today, I’ll never again have to see or hear that word in a political slogan.

To all my American friends, and even those of my readers I don’t know: you’re all in my thoughts today. I hope with every fiber of my being that Trump will be defeated as soundly as he deserves.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2016 03:10

    Kindness, honesty, love, acceptance, respect, generosity…all words I subscribe to, as well! You can’t go wrong with them.

Leave a Reply

