Skip to content

The Deepest Truth I Believe In

November 11, 2016
tags:

[I wrote this for my German urban gardening blog, and also posted it on my silly customer stories blog, with a changed first line.]

I alyways told myself I would only write about my gardens here, not about my other interests or opinions.

But sometimes that simply doesn’t work. Sometimes I also have to write about people.

There is one thing that I believe with all my heart and that I will not debate with anyone.
Every person is worth the same. Regardless of their nationality, skin colour, language, religion, gender, sexual orientation, disabilities, no matter how poor or rich, no matter how educated or uneducated, no matter how beautiful or ugly, no matter how fat or thin, no matter how healthy or ill, no matter how young or old, no matter what political opinions they have.

The last point, I struggle with the most. Yes, we all want to feel better than others. Yes, I also want to feel better than people, whose opinions I find despicable.

But the truth is still: we are all worth the same. We all deserve the same respect. We all deserve the same rights and the same politeness. We all deserve freedom and safety and a good life.

But we don’t deserve that good life at the expense of other people.
Every person is worth the same.

I want to believe this is a matter of course for you.

But the truth is, I don’t know most of you. And most of you don’t know me.

I want you to think about this for a minute.

Every person is worth the same.

In view of the election of Donald Trump, of my American friends and acquaintances, who fear for their safety, their health, their life, and those of their families and friends. In view of our own elections, where the right-wing parties are on the rise. In view of the refugee “crisis”, which we won’t solve by closing our borders and ignoring the desperate people beyond them. (A solution at the expense of other people is no solution.) In view of our own history as Germans and Austrians.

Every person is worth the same.

If you can’t agree with me on this, then I ask you to leave my blog. I can respect you, but I don’t have to like you, and I don’t want anything to do with you.

And if you can agree with me, I want to ask you: Help to make the world better. Even if it’s just small things. (I don’t have the courage and the strength for grand things either.) Don’t stay silent and don’t look away. Be there for each other. For every person.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2016 03:17

    “But we don’t deserve that good life at the expense of other people.” You said it all with this sentence.

    And you are so right. You can show respect to people without liking them, and choose to have nothing to do with them, too.

    • November 13, 2016 09:39

      As I said in the other post, good and evil is a useless concept in real life… but this is another thing that feels like it could be the difference – being willing to carry out your plans at the expense of others, or not. And of course, that is deeply linked with being willing to compromise and understand.

Leave a Reply

