Skip to content

I Still Don’t Like Ebooks

January 3, 2017

… but sometimes they are the best solution. Like when I can’t wait for a paper copy to get here. Even if it means reading on the laptop because I still don’t want to own an ereader.

howwl

But I really can’t wait longer to read The Heart of What Was Lost.

(Lalala, I’m not crying about seeing my name in the acknowledgements, no, not at all…)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2017 23:19

    I am waiting for a paper copy, myself. But this is only because I already received an electronic copy months ago, and can hold off a few more days until I get the Real Thing. Now, for the final version, I want the physical copy. I want to be able to hold the book, smell the pages, pore over the maps the way a medieval scholar (or Scrollbearer?) would.

    Congrats again on your name appearing in the book! It is such a thrill to see one’s name in print, in such an awesome series. I never expected to be able to see my name printed in a Tad-book. The fact that it keeps happening is just unimaginable.

    • January 4, 2017 23:26

      I mean, I have the version I read for feedback, of course, but I could not wait to see the final thing. (I haven’t checked what, if anything, has changed).
      And hey, I got three free books, I can buy one twice for a chance!

      I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to get over the fact that my name is there. Probably not.

      • January 4, 2017 23:32

        For my collection, I have purchased both the US hardcover and the UK hardcover. I’ll do the same for The Witchwood Crown, when it is released. (I also picked up a nice Russian edition of The Dragonbone Chair while I was already on Ebay to get the UK edition, and saw that a Russian edition was suddenly available).
        I’m just not a big fan of electronic editions… unless it’s for searching or proofreading; then it’s a must!
        I feel the same about my name being in such a great series. It just feels… impossible, I guess. As if this is just the dream of a book-geek, rather than something… real.

        • January 4, 2017 23:47

          Yeah, as I said, I still don’t like ebooks, but after all that proofreading, I suppose I dislike them a little less than I used to. But I can’t wait until I have something that I can touch! (But I don’t intend to buy more than one physical copy of anything.)

          And yeah. Impossible and unreal… it doesn’t even feel like a dream, because for most of my life, it would not even have occurred to me that this was even something that could ever happen.

Leave a Reply

