Skip to content

A Reason to Celebrate

June 15, 2017

After two years and 8 months, after weeks and weeks of classes, and however much money spent on them (I don’t even want to know), after so much studying and crying and feeling like I could not do it…

I’m done, I’m free, I’m a master horticulturist.

 

DSC05572klein

It still doesn’t quite feel real. I kind of want to talk about it all day, but I don’t even know where to start…

The final exam, which was on Tuesday, felt kind of … anticlimactic, actually. I’ve struggled so much in the last few years, especially with the paper I had to write, to the point that I ended up going to therapy because I could not have done it otherwise.

And then the final exam was so easy, and we spent most of the day just feeling bored, because we spent about 8 hours just sitting around at school and waiting.

But as grateful as I am that this is over – I’m even more grateful for the friends I made thanks to it.

Having been very shy for most of my life, I was never good at making friends at school. I’m still not quite sure how I became friends with K, M and A. Maybe because we were the only ones who took the train instead of driving? Or maybe because we see each other as support rather than potential competition, as some of our classmates seem to?

However it happened, we spent a lot of time studying together, and made a trip to a trade fair in Germany together, we’ve visited each other’s homes and workplaces, and I’m sure we’ll try to keep that up (minus the studying).

I wonder what the rest of the class did after the exam – did some of them go out to celebrate? Did they all drift apart, never to see each other again?

In the past, I was always the one to quietly slip away, having formed no connections with anyone.

But this time, I was one of a group going out for dinner and ice cream and drinks, and that is so, so precious to me.

IMG_20170613_183905

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2017 08:21

    Congrats! This is a huge accomplishment! Also, yay for making friends. I’m not a group person myself and somehow most of my friendships don’t tend to last long, so I understand why that is important to you.

  2. June 18, 2017 06:42

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you!

  3. lvdpal permalink
    June 19, 2017 12:11

    Hurray to having friends (and reasons) to celebrate!

  4. July 9, 2017 02:57

    I realize this is rather late, but congratulations! Not sure if this is weird but I found your blog via nanowrimo and have been reading it for a while. The picture of all of you at the end is really sweet and inspired me to finally comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

