Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 28, 2014

July 28, 2014

s100_0252 Cucurbita pepo

I can’t actally remember harvesting this zucchini, and still less how I ate it. Weird. The only thing I really remember about it is weighing it, because my cheap kitchen scales only go up to 0.5 kg, and this weighed 0.8 kg, so I had to cut it in half to weigh it.

 

s100_0258

s100_0260

Ah yes, but I remember this. Tiny balcony carrots, a little beet (they needed to be thinned), a rather big kohlrabi from the community garden and the very last peas. They (well, only part of the kohlrabi) and some of the zucchini went into a quick vegetable stir-fry.

s100_0264

I usually eat the bell peppers with my lunch sandwiches. Although I can’t quite eat them as quickly as they grown, so I’ll have to use them to cook something soon. Maybe I’ll have stuffed peppers some time this week.

s100_0265

First eggplant of the year. It, and the rest of the zucchini, went into a vaguely moussaka-like something of the “let’s just throw together everything that needs to be eaten” variety. It turned out surprisingly good. I just hope I’ll be able to recreate it when I feel like it again.

s100_0275

A couple of strawberries for Sunday breakfast.

 

s100_0277  s100_0276

Some of the self-sowed lettuce that has been popping up all over my community garden plot (yay for not weeding all that often) and yet another zucchini. A part of it went into the lasanga I made on Sunday – a dish that usually means two days of leftovers, but since I had my mother, one brother and my best friend over for lunch, it was gone in no time (actually, best friend’s baby was there as well – and I nearly forgot to post these last three pictures because they were buried among pictures of him – but he doesn’t eat lasanga yet. Or rather, he is not allowed to yet, but he already looked very interested.)

My balcony harvests are already worth over € 100. I still need tot add prices to my community garden spreadsheet to see how much that has been so far… I have no idea what lettuce and kohlrabi and zucchini would cost if I bought them…

 

And as always, there are lots of other harvests to be found at Daphne’s Dandelions.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. wvhiker permalink
    July 29, 2014 02:04

    We seem to always find something to do with our bell peppers, although they can be a bit tiring. Love to see you community plot sometime as we don’t have those in my area sadly.

    • July 29, 2014 06:42

      I really need to bring my camera the next time I go there. I keep planning to, but then always forget.

  2. daphnegould permalink
    July 29, 2014 14:42

    I always love the self sown lettuces that come up in the spring. They won’t come up in the summer though. I haven’t had lettuce in a while as it has been too hot for it.

    • August 6, 2014 23:01

      I still have a bit – mostly crisphead, which seems to be more heat-tolerant – but I did lose quite a few to bolting. And no more self-sown ones, either.

Leave a comment